Press Release

Finalists Announced for 2017 AIB Private Banking Irish Law Awards

Tuesday 4th March 2017 – For Immediate Release

The 2017 finalists for the AIB Private Banking Irish Law Awards have been announced and leading law firms, legal practitioners and in-house legal teams across Ireland have made the shortlist. With a 36% increase in entries this year, and now in its sixth consecutive year, the highly prestigious awards commend excellence in Irish law and recognise the outstanding achievements and exemplary practices of the Irish business law community.

The judging panel for the AIB Private Banking Irish Law Awards is chaired by notary public and solicitor, Dr. Eamonn G.Hall and the awards’ judging panel review each submission in the context of the criteria for each category. The Awards will take place on Friday May 12th with a black-tie gala evening ceremony hosted by Miriam O’Callaghan, in the Clayton Hotel Burlington Road, Dublin 4.

‘Dublin Solicitor of the Year’ is one of six new categories in 2017, along with ‘Excellence in Client Services’ which shows that the legal profession is really focusing on customer service as well as the new ‘Excellence in Marketing & Communications’ category which proves that the profession is striving to communicate with ttheir clients.

Other new categories this year that proved extremely popular with voters include ‘Connacht/Ulster Solicitor of the Year’, ‘Munster Solicitor of the Year’, and ‘Leinster Solicitor of the Year’.

Yet nominations were strong across all categories including; ‘Property, Planning, Probate Team/ Lawyer of the Year’, ‘Sole Practitioner/ Sole Principal of the Year Award’, and ‘Legal Executive of the Year’.

Commenting on the quality of the finalists, Dave McLaughlin, Head of AIB Private Banking said: “I would like to congratulate all the finalists in the various categories. The increased number and quality of these nominations is testament of this prestigious event. Many of our valued customers are legal professionals who do outstanding work and we are delighted to be associated with an event that recognises excellence in this field.”

Adding to this, Dr. Eamonn G. Hall, Chairman of the judging panel said: “It has been a privilege and a pleasure to review the achievements of the best and the brightest lawyers in Ireland in the AIB Private Banking Irish Law Awards. The contributions of these lawyers to make Ireland a better place has been immense. It is fitting that we celebrate their noble achievements.”

Tracey Carney, Event Director, said: “Every year, the awards recognise and reward significant hard work, dedication and excellence in the field of Irish law. This year is no different and we believe all the finalists are thoroughly deserving of this recognition.”
Charity partners for the 2017 AIB Private Banking Irish Law Awards are the Solicitors’ Benevolent Association, The Barristers’ Benevolent Society and the Peter McVerry Trust.

For a full list of this year’s finalists visit or contact Kathryn Doyle on (01) 432 2226, or [email protected]


For further information, imagery or interviews, please contact Ann-Marie Sheehan, Aspire PR, Telephone: 01 827 5181 / 087 298 5569 or email: [email protected]


Photographer – Paul Sherwood [email protected] 087 230 9096
AIB Private Banking Law Awards 2017, photocall, held at AIB Bank Centre, Ballsbridge. March 2017

By | 2017-04-07T09:31:10+00:00 April 5th, 2017|News|0 Comments

Leave A Comment